The following information is being provided to help clarify the new law affecting any student who will be 16 years old in 2007 and who chooses to apply for a Class-D Driver’s License.
What is “Joshua's Law”?
Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.
What is a Certificate of Completion?
A Certificate of Completion is a DDS prescribed certificate providing written proof that the student has successfully completed a driver education course consisting of thirty (30) hours of classroom and six (6) hours of behind the wheel instruction. For insurance reduction, a student must successfully complete this program and be issued a Certificate of Completion.
A Limited Certificate of Completion is a DDS prescribed certificate providing written proof that the student has successfully completed a driver training course consisting of less than thirty (30) hours of classroom and six (6) hours of behind the wheel instruction.
A list of approved driver training programs is provided on the DDS website at www.dds.georgia.gov. Before taking a driver education course, be sure to verify that the program has been approved by DDS.
With the passage of SB 226 (Joshua's Law) by the 2005 Georgia General Assembly, the Georgia Driver Education Commission was created. The Commission has been meeting on a regular basis to review various methods of driver training for a comprehensive accessible, affordable and effective method of driver education available for students throughout the state. The Commission has approved the following driver education methods: http://dds.georgia.gov/documents/joshuas-law-course-chart.
Students do not need a learner's permit for the classroom course or the virtual program; however, they will need a learner's permit for 1 year and 1 day prior to being issued a Class D license. A learner's permit is required for the behind the wheel driving. Students can complete their supervised driving hours concurrent to taking a driver's education class provided that they have a learner's permit.
For further information visit the Department of Driver Services website at www.dds.georgia.gov or www.gateendrivereducation.dds.ga.gov.
PROUD SPONSORS OF THE GEORGIA DRIVER'S EDUCATION COMMISSION